Diary of an Autistic Father: Week 20

 Lola is moving past her instantly cute phase. 

What I mean by that is she doesn’t get the same gushing attention she used to. She’s not a tiny baby. She’s becoming a common infant. Already ageism is hitting her. 

That’s not to say she doesn’t still get it. We do get stopped occasionally. She’s such a cutie it has to happen. But it’s not the same. 

That’s a nice metaphor for how parenting feels this week. It’s nice but it’s becoming normal. The new is hard wearing off. It’s still great but after nearly 5 months, it’s routine. Even the days where it’s just us are ordinary now. 

This is a great thing. 

I like routine after all. I love that I’m in one with her. It gives me comfort. When everything feels chaotic, there’s a bottle to feed her or a diaper to change. This is my Lola. My pattern. 

Still we manage to have some exciting changes. We went to the grocery store with her in a sling last week. We visited the new Conway bookstore. We’ve gone on walks. I’m always trying the new with her.

And no matter what, she will always be my Favorite 

One thought on “Diary of an Autistic Father: Week 20

Leave a Reply

