One Year Later: A Flickering Life

I’ve had this blog for a full year. What a weird thought that is. This isn’t my longest writing project, I had a Xanga for three years, but it’s been one of the most focused continual projects I’ve ever worked on. I calculated and I’ve written roughly 79,100 works over 89 entries on this blog. That’s a lot of work.

Over the course of this year, I’ve ridden out extreme weather. I was in a car accident. I moved. I got to interview a director of a film I loved. I’ve remained happily married. I’ve experienced the fear of a friend in the hospital. I’ve stared down the brutal reality of a friend’s death. It’s been a long year.

I didn’t get here alone. It’s in that mindset that I want to pause and thank everybody who has helped and supported me over the last 12 months.

I start with the first person I see every single day. I would be lost without the help of Amanda. In marriage, I firmly believe it is my role to do my all for her and vice versa. She fulfills her end spectacularly. She has pushed me so hard here. Not  for the first or last time, I celebrate her.

My family has been there fully on this. I write in no small part to reach them. I know I’ve done that. They’ve backed me hard. I know I haven’t always shined a light in writing this but sometimes I couldn’t and that’s ok. When I’ve found the light, I have.

I’ve eternally had the support of my friends.

  • Albert Wiltfong, my partner in The Film Room, was a great aid as I got started. He’s listened to me bounce entry after entry off of him.
  • Laura Harvey, cited at length in several entries, has been a source of insight. It’s amazing to me how long our friendship has lasted. I’m grateful for it. I recommend her blog.
  • Lindsay Singer, whose son is in my shoes, has provided wonderful backing. I bid her well in her journey.
  • Jeani Hamilton Shinn, my high school mentor, has continued to push me just as hard now. I congratulate her in her recent marriage!
  • Mason Daniel, who’s been a good ear through the rough patches.

Then there are the backers.

  • Rachel Parker Dickerson sought me out for an interview for Autism Awareness Month and did a dynamite job.
  • The Art of Autism gave me a platform during their 40 day project. Wonderful site.
  • Lexi Alexander, director of the awesome Punisher: War Zone gave me an early boost at a key moment through retweets. She’s shown clear insight and respect.
  • Shaun at No Totally deserves all the credit I can give him for his interview he did with me. Big retweeter and great guy.
  •  I once more thank Amanda Mills of Nature in the City for respecting me enough to provide different angles!.
  • I’ve gained much though discussions with Film Spectrum. He really has a lot to say.

I pause to remember the one backer I can’t thank. Lauren, my dear friend, I miss you. Thank you for having been there.

If I failed to note you, I beseech you, tell me. You are all important to me getting to here. I cherish all of the support I’ve had.

So where do things go from here? I don’t know. But I’ll find out. I hope you stick around to find out too.

Leave a Reply

