A note on terminology

It’s been brought to my attention that the term aspie is no longer correct. Indeed the entire disorder has been removed from the DSM-V. Instead, the proper terms are autism spectrum and high functioning autistic. I acknowledge those are correct. However, I’m still generally not changing my terminology I use. Why? Well, for one I usually shorten Asperger Syndrome to AS, which fits Autism Spectrum just as well. Similarly, feel free to consider aspie slang for someone on the spectrum. These are the words I’ve grown up with. But, I will try to use the correct terminology when needed. I will not reference Asperger Syndrome anymore. We are high functioning autistics, even if it makes us uncomfortable at times. I’ve always considered myself one. I am striving to be a resource site after all.

Leave a Reply

